Waiting on Wednesday [275] – ONE WAY by S.J. Morden – #RRSciFiMonth

Waiting on Wednesdays is the brainchild of Jill at Breaking the Spine, and because Jill isn’t hosting it any more, I’m now linking up with Can’t Wait Wednesday at Wishful Endings. Stop over there and link up your “Can’t Wait” book of the week!

It’s Sci Fi Month, in case you haven’t heard, and this month all my Waiting on Wednesday picks will be science fiction. I’m getting some Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty vibes from this week’s pick:

When the small crew of ex cons working on Mars start getting murdered, everyone is a suspect in this terrifying science fiction thriller from bona fide rocket scientist and award winning-author S. J. Morden.

It’s the dawn of a new era – and we’re ready to colonize Mars. But the company that’s been contracted to construct a new Mars base, has made promises they can’t fulfill and is desperate enough to cut corners. The first thing to go is the automation . . . the next thing they’ll have to deal with is the eight astronauts they’ll send to Mars, when there aren’t supposed to be any at all.

Frank – father, architect, murderer – is recruited for the mission to Mars with the promise of a better life, along with seven of his most notorious fellow inmates. But as his crew sets to work on the red wasteland of Mars, the accidents mount up, and Frank begins to suspect they might not be accidents at all. As the list of suspect grows shorter, it’s up to Frank to uncover the terrible truth before it’s too late.

Dr. S. J. Morden is a bona fide rocket scientist and the author of razor-sharp, award-winning science fiction. Perfect for fans of Andy Weir’s The Martian and Richard Morgan, One Way takes off like a rocket, pulling us along on a terrifying, epic ride with only one way out.

One Way by S.J. Morden. Releases in April 2018 from Orbit. This sounds like a lot of fun. It’s hard to ignore the similarities to The Martian (the cover is very similar for one thing), but this story sounds quite different, and I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy!

Let me know what you’re waiting on this week:-D

Follow me!
Follow by Email
Twitter
SOCIALICON
Facebook
Google+
Instagram
RSS

Posted November 22, 2017 by Tammy in Waiting on Wednesday / 20 Comments

Divider

20 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday [275] – ONE WAY by S.J. Morden – #RRSciFiMonth

    • Tammy

      Me too! I love science fiction but I also love fantasy, so I just have to figure out a way to fit both genres into my schedule.

    • Tammy

      It does sound like a good idea, I guess it something happens to them while they are colonizing, no big deal;-)

    • Tammy

      It happens every year, so maybe you can join next year. I didn’t get to participate as much as I wanted, but it’s still a blast!

    • Tammy

      Ha ha, I really thought we’d have more of the same WoWs this month, but it just shows you how many new releases there are, so many to choose from!

    • Tammy

      I think the cover is going to grab a bunch of people who loved the Martian, which I’m sure is what the publisher intended.

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge