Tammy’s Top Ten Sci-Fi Books for 2017 – #RRSciFiMonth

sci-fi-month

Last year I brought you my Top Ten YA Sci-Fi Books that came out in 2016, and this year I’m mixing it up and throwing in some adult books as well. These are all on my TBR list for next year, and of course, this is only a small sample of ALL the science fiction titles coming out. I’m restricting this list to books that already have covers, because no one wants to look at a blank rectangle, amirite? In any case, this list will no doubt grow by leaps and bounds as more books and covers are revealed. Here are my top ten picks for 2017 sci-fi books (click on the titles to read the Goodreads description):

2017 Young Adult Sci-Fi Books

Behold the BLUE COVERS!! I have no idea why so many book covers are blue/purple these days. It must be a marketing thing, because it’s certainly working on me!

Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza. Releases in February 2017 from Razorbill. This YA space opera sounds so good and it’s “…perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Pierce Brown.”

Blight by Alexandra Duncan. Releases in August 2017 from Greenwillow. I love the sound of the futuristic action/survival story, and the publisher describes it as “…Margaret Atwood’s Oryx and Crake meets Nancy Farmer’s House of the Scorpion.”

Pitch Dark by Courtney Alameda. Releases in June 2017 from Feiwel & Friends. I’ve already gushed about this book in a Waiting on Wednesday, but it’s worth bringing up again because I’m so. freaking. excited!

Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth. Releases in January 2017 from Katherine Tegen Books. A new series from the author of Divergent, the publisher mentions that fans of Star Wars will probably love this. I personally love this cover:-)

Dreamfall by Amy Plum. Releases in May 2017 from HarperTeen. This story sounds trippy, in a good way of course. I have yet to read an Amy Plum book, and I’m hoping this will be my first.

2017 Adult Sci-Fi Books

I hereby proclaim 2017 as the Year of the Blue/Purple Book Cover, lol. I just had to throw in Cameron Hurley’s book to keep this from being an all-blue pallette:-)

Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty. Releases in January 2017 from Orbit. A story about a dead crew on a ship who are resurrected in order to find the murderer? Yes, I cannot wait for this!

The Stars are Legion by Kameron Hurley. Releases in February 2017 from Saga Press. I wasn’t crazy about Hurley’s The Mirror Empire, but she is an amazing writer and I’d love to read her again. And this blurb from the publisher has hooked me: “In the tradition of The Fall of Hyperion and Dune.”

Waking Gods (Themis Files #2) by Sylvain Neuvel. Releases in April 2017 from Del Rey. I really enjoyed Sleeping Giants, and I’m very curious to see what happens next.

Proof of Concept by Gwyneth Jones. Releases in April 2017 from Tor.com. This is the only novella on the list, but the story sounds deliciously complex!

The Collapsing Empire by John Scalzi. Releases in March 2017 from Tor Books. I can’t believe I’ve only read one Scalzi book (Lock In), because I love his blog so much. I aim to get some more Scalzi under my belt next year, and this one sounds like a good place to start.

And that’s my list! Wow, I’m excited for 2017 already, and this list has barely scratched the surface! I’m curious, what sci-fi books are you looking forward to next year?

Follow me!
Follow by Email
Twitter
SOCIALICON
Facebook
Google+
Instagram
RSS

Posted November 10, 2016 by Tammy in Sci-Fi Month, Top Ten / 23 Comments

Divider

23 responses to “Tammy’s Top Ten Sci-Fi Books for 2017 – #RRSciFiMonth

    • Tammy

      Aren’t they?? Art styles for book covers have definitely changed over the years. I love the direction they are headed:-) Thanks for stopping by, Rinn!

  1. Marian

    Oh, yes, for John Scalzi! I loved Old Mans War; and so did both my offspring, including the one who reads very little. And The Android’s dream makes me snort and giggle just thinking about it. I’ve liked all his books thus far.

    • Tammy

      I would love to read Old Man’s War, and also Redshirts, which I hear is a lot of fun!

  2. What a brilliant list of books to look forward to already!
    I definitely want the Six Wakes book – sounds ever so slightly creepy. I also really enjoyed Sleeping Giants so very much looking forward to No.2.
    Lynn 😀

    • Tammy

      Oh I’m glad to hear you enjoyed Sleeping Giants, I know it was hit or miss with lots of readers:-)

    • Tammy

      I have a copy of Fuzzy Nation that I’ve had for a while. Maybe I should read it too??

  3. I haven’t read Amy Plum either, but Dreamfall does looks good. Six Wakes does too, and nice to see Mur Lafferty being so prolific. Waking Gods I’m looking forward to, even though I wasn’t as crazy about Sleeping Giants as a lot of were. Proof of Concept- I love that cover!
    Greg recently posted…Are You A Seasonal Reader?My Profile

    • Tammy

      I know a lot of bloggers who didn’t care for Sleeping Giants, because of the format, but I feel like I’m invested now and really want to see what comes next.

    • Tammy

      LOL. I actually made this list before I sat down to figure out my WoWs and started to panic, because I had to find more! But there really are some great books coming out so it wasn’t actually that hard to fill all those spaces.

  4. The summary for Six Wakes doesn’t make it sounds that great, but I’m into the idea behind the book so hopefully it’s just a bad summary. Waking Gods is definitely on my wishlist, as is Pitch Dark. C’mon 2017, get here quickly!
    Lorraine recently posted…Sci-Fi Month: Isolated in SpaceMy Profile

    • Tammy

      I’m very curious about Carve the Mark, I hope it’s good! Thanks for visiting, Alyssa:-)

    • Tammy

      I forgot that was coming out next year. Makes sense since Gemina just came out. I didn’t want to talk about anything that didn’t have a cover yet, and I don’t think it’s been revealed yet.