Waiting on Wednesday [207] – THE FACE FAKER’S GAME by Chandler J. Birch

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine, and is a fun way to share upcoming books that you’re excited about with other bloggers and readers.

My choice this week is a book that the publisher is comparing to Patrick Rothfuss and Scott Lynch, pretty cool, right? I always hesitate to believe such comparisons without reading the book first, but I’ll definitely take a chance on this one:

The Face Faker's GameFor fans of Patrick Rothfuss and Scott Lynch, a picaresque fantasy about a clever young beggar who bargains his way into an apprenticeship with a company of thieving magicians and uses his newfound skills in a vendetta against a ruthless crime lord.

Ashes lives in Burroughside—the dirtiest, most crime-ridden district in the huge city of Teranis. His neighbors are gangs of fellow orphans, homeless madmen, and monsters that swarm the streets at nightfall. Determined to escape Burroughside, Ashes spends his days begging, picking pockets, and cheating at cards. When he draws the wrath of Mr. Ragged, Burroughside’s brutal governor, he is forced to flee for his life, only to be rescued by an enigmatic man named Candlestick Jack.

Jack leads a group of Artificers, professional magicians who can manipulate light with their bare hands to create stunningly convincing illusions. Changing a face is as simple as changing a hat. Ashes seizes an opportunity to study magic under Jack and quickly befriends the rest of the company: Juliana, Jack’s aristocratic wife; William, his exacting business partner; and Synder, his genius apprentice. But all is not as it seems: Jack and his company lead a double life as thieves, and they want Ashes to join their next heist. Between lessons on light and illusion, Ashes begins preparing to help with Jack’s most audacious caper yet: robbing the richest and most ruthless nobleman in the city.

A dramatic adventure story full of wit, charm, and scheming rogues, The Facefaker’s Game introduces an unforgettable world you won’t soon want to leave.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

The Face-Faker’s Game by Chandler J. Birch. Releases in November 2016 from Simon & Schuster/Simon451. At first glance, this story has everything I’m looking for: humor and adventure and interesting characters. Sounds like fun!

Let me know what you’re waiting on:-D

Follow me!
Follow by Email
Twitter
SOCIALICON
Facebook
Google+
Instagram
RSS

Posted July 27, 2016 by Tammy in Waiting on Wednesday / 11 Comments

Divider

11 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday [207] – THE FACE FAKER’S GAME by Chandler J. Birch

  1. todd

    I agree with all the comments on comparisons to Rothfuss and Lynch. It’s a high bar and these types of comparisons usually fall flat to me. However, I do like the description, could be an interesting read. I’m curious to see some reviews.

  2. Time will tell I suppose, can only really reflect the other comments about comparisons to Lynch and Rothfuss! It does sound intriguing (although I’m also not fond of the cover). Charm and wit and rogues though – that always appeals.
    Lynn 😀