Waiting on Wednesday [178] THE READER by Traci Chee

Wow banner 2015 copy

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine, and is a fun way to share upcoming books that you’re excited about with other bloggers and readers.

I don’t know what’s up with all the amazing-sounding YA fantasy and science fiction titles coming out in 2016, but I swear 2016 is going to be the Year of Young Adult! I found another one that totally ticks all the boxes for me, especially because it’s about a society where books are forbidden:

The ReaderA stunning debut set in a world where reading is forbidden, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible.

With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

The Reader (Sea of Ink and Gold #1) by Traci Chee. Releases in September 2016 from Putnam. OK, I know September is a LONG time away, but doesn’t this sound awesome? I’m looking forward to the combination of pirates and assassins, in particular:-)

Let me know what you’re waiting on this week!

Follow me!
Follow by Email
Twitter
SOCIALICON
Facebook
Google+
Instagram
RSS

Posted December 23, 2015 by Tammy in Waiting on Wednesday / 9 Comments

Divider

9 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday [178] THE READER by Traci Chee