Waiting on Wednesday [166] SPELLS OF BLOOD AND KIN by Claire Humphrey

Wow banner 2015 copy

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine, and is a fun way to share upcoming books that you’re excited about with other bloggers and readers. This week’s pick appears to be a werewolf story, and I’m pretty excited about it:

Spells of Blood and KinIn her extraordinary debut, Spells of Blood and Kin, Claire Humphrey deftly weaves her paranormal world with vivid emotional depth and gritty violence. Bringing together themes of death, addiction, and grief, Claire takes readers on a human journey that goes beyond fantasy.

When her beloved grandmother dies suddenly, 22-year-old Lissa Nevsky is left with no choice but to take over her grandmother’s magical position in their small folk community. That includes honoring a debt owed to the dangerous stranger who appears at Lissa’s door.

Maksim Volkov needs magic to keep his brutal nature leashed, but he’s already lost control once: his blood-borne lust for violence infects Nick Kaisaris, a charming slacker out celebrating the end of finals. Now Nick is somewhere else in Toronto, going slowly mad, and Maksim must find him before he hurts more people.

Lissa must uncover forbidden secrets and mend family rifts in order to prevent Maksim from hurting more people, including himself. If she fails, Maksim will have no choice but to destroy both himself and Nick.

Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman, Lev Grossman, Deborah Harkness, Naomi Novik, and Anne Bishop!

goodreads-badge-add-plus

Spells of Blood and Kin by Claire Humphrey will be released in June 2016 from Thomas Dunne Books. Such a long wait! I think this cover is so unusual, for some reason, and I love it. I don’t think it’s YA, due to the ages of the characters, but the cover is sort of giving off that vibe, at least to me. And you know me, it wouldn’t be Wednesday without a blue or purple-covered book, LOL!

Let me know what you’re waiting on, or leave a link to your WoW post!

Follow me!
Follow by Email
Twitter
SOCIALICON
Facebook
Google+
Instagram
RSS

Posted September 23, 2015 by Tammy in Waiting on Wednesday / 7 Comments

Divider

7 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday [166] SPELLS OF BLOOD AND KIN by Claire Humphrey

  1. When I first saw the title, I thought this was new to me. Then I saw the cover, and I realized I had seen this before, I was looking it up just yesterday in fact! I was putting it on my watchlist on goodreads though I’m not sure yet if I’ll pick it up. Definitely an eye catching book, though.
    Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum recently posted…Waiting on Wednesday 09/23/15My Profile