Spooktacular Giveaway Hop! Choose From Four Awesome Scary Books

Spooktacular Hop

Welcome to the Spooktacular Giveaway Hop, hosted by I Am a Reader, Not a Writer! Each stop on this hop will have all sorts of book related spooky giveaways, just in time for Halloween. For my giveaway, one international winner will get to select from one of the four books below (provided the Book Depository ships to your country). Click on the book title link to read the Goodreads description:

The Lesser Dead by Christopher Buehlman. I’m dying to read this vampire story set in the 1970s! This just came out, so I don’t even have a copy for myself yet. Here’s a blurb from Publishers Weekly:

“The sharply witty tone and graphic style mine the darker facets of vampirism, while Joey’s complex relationship with Margaret, and the poignant, prickly camaraderie he shares with Cvetko, an older vampire, add heft and humanity to Buehlman’s distinctive, twisty entry into a crowded genre.”—Publishers Weekly

Motherless Child by Glen Hirshberg. I have a copy of this book, although I haven’t had time to read it yet. It’s received some rave reviews, including this one from Horrorworld:

“A heartbreaking exploration of friendship, motherhood, love, loss, and loyalty. Motherless Child is a staggeringly good novel, and if I had any complaint, it’s that it ended too soon. Highly recommended.”—Horrorworld

Revival by Stephen King. King’s latest hits stores next month, so if this is your choice, it will be a preorder. Hopefully The Book Depository will have this lovely UK cover available, which I much prefer to the US cover. Publishers Weekly loved it!

“Spellbinding…King is a master at invoking the supernatural through the powerful emotions of his characters, and his depiction of Jacobs as a man unhinged by grief but driven by insatiable scientific curiosity is as believable as it is frightening. The novel’s ending – one of King’s best – stuns like lightning.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

Horrorstör by Grady Hendrix. This is the only one of these four that I’ve read, and I loved it! Deceptively innocent looking on the outside, but filled with some terrifying and gruesome moments, I had a blast with this book. Here’s what Kirkus Reviews has to say about it:

“…a clever little horror story…the book starts as a Palahniuk-tinged satire about the things we own…turning the psychological manipulations and scripted experiences that are inherent to the retail experience into a sinister fight for survival. A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.”—Kirkus Reviews

Ready to enter? Click here to go to the Rafflecopter page!

And don’t forget to follow the rest of the stops on this hop!

Follow me!
Follow by Email
Twitter
SOCIALICON
Facebook
Google+
Instagram
RSS

Posted October 14, 2014 by Tammy in Giveaway Hop, Giveaways / 76 Comments

Divider

76 responses to “Spooktacular Giveaway Hop! Choose From Four Awesome Scary Books

  1. Some of the scariest books I’ve ever read weren’t necessarily branded as horror, but sci-fi! For instance, I find a lot of dystopian fiction horrifying. 1984, Animal Farm, Brave New World, Fahrenheit 451 — all bone-chilling in their view of humanity and where our supposed intelligence will take us. Even scarier? A lot of that stuff has come true.

  2. Dorothy Teel

    Some of my scariest are medical mysteries that do have a chance of coming true and the though scares me – The Fifth Vital is one, and of course I love to read classics, like Frankenstein, and the movie Duel about the tanker tuck still scares me when I pass a truck, and of course I leave our shower curtain open unless using because I still can see the stabbing of Alfred Hitchcock, there are a lot that others probably are not scared of

  3. Bonnie Franks

    I love horror books. I have read every King book (although I do not consider all of his books to be horror) and Clive Barker and so on. I once read a book when I was in my twenties that scared me so badly I couldn’t do anything but stay in bed and cry for a whole day. I have since re-purchased the book to see if it is actually that scary and I……..don’t have the nerve to read it yet.

  4. Anita Yancey

    The scariest book that I have read is The Shining. Thanks for having the giveaway.

  5. Mmm, spookiest or scariest books – well I thought the Shining was pretty good. I like books that just give you the chills and make you scared to be alone. I was reading something like that when I was on holiday recently (not really an ideal holiday read) and decided I’d wait until the day time to finish it – even though there was only a few chapters left.
    Lynn 😀

  6. The Dark Half by Stephen King, Afraid by Jack Kilborn and Still Missing by Chevy Stevens are my top 3 that kept me awake at night!

  7. Susan T.

    Bird Box by Josh Malerman. I loved Horrorstor too. It was terrifying and funny! 🙂

  8. I would really love to read Revival by Stephen King. I just love horror books, especially ones that scare me and make me want to sleep with the lights on.

  9. The scariest book I have read… That’s a difficult question to answer and I had to give it some thought. I tend to not get scared from reading supposedly scary stories. (Maybe I haven’t read the right ones, yet.) So the scariest novel I have read actually is a sci-fi novel: Lucifer’s Hammer by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle. What scared me and still scares me is that, when I read the novel, I kept imagining myself in the post-apocalyptic scenario of the novel, thinking what I would do, if an asteroid hit the Earth.

  10. Suz Reads

    All of Stephen King’s books – and I love them! Thanks for this amazing giveaway – I would love to win!

  11. I think one of the scariest I’ve ever read is Zombie by Joyce Carol Oates. It isn’t about actual zombies, though. I won’t say anymore than that, but it’s freaky and creepy!

    Thank you for the awesome giveaway 🙂

  12. I have had so many ask me that, and I honestly cannot remember the name of it. It was a “true account” ghost story. A nurse that lived in NY state with her kids. I have the book but it is in my storage shed, because when I moved I had no room for ALL of my books. I can say without a doubt it was truly one that gave me the willies. I was looking over my shoulder and checking things out when I heard noises in the house. Didn’t help I was reading it at night and was living alone.

  13. Bonnie Hilligoss

    I have all the books by Stephen King, Dean Koontz, John Saul, and several by Clive Barker. Pick any of them and you’ve got a great scary read! I will get Revival as soon as it comes out!!

  14. Isa

    I don’t read much horror because I’m such a wimp but i think the scariest has to be The Exorcist. hank you for the giveaway, enjoy your day! 🙂

  15. Mara

    I’m not a huge fan of horror when it comes to movies, but when it’s in books, I can handle it. One of the recent ones I have read is The Shining by Stephen King and I found it very scary and amazing at the same time!

  16. Toni Porter

    There are several, but I’ll pick one–Salem’s Lot by Stephen King. It was my first “horror” book years ago, and it still has a special place in my heart.

  17. The scariest book I’ve ever read is probably The Mara Dyer series. It’s more of a thriller book than horror but it scared the daylight out of me. It’s just creepy to think that there’s someone watching you, but you’re second-guessing yourself and your sanity. Mara Dyer series has the best unreliable narrator I’ve ever read.

  18. stacy

    Stephen King is one of the scariest authors I have ever read, and I think It is his scariest book!

  19. Beverly Gordon

    scariest book I have ever read was IT it was the most horrifying scariest book that messed with my imagination for weeks and I loved it!

    ty for the chance to win I love Stephen King

    mortalsinn(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  20. Makaela

    I’ve never read anything really scary. I would say A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray is about the spookiest. =)

  21. Denise Z

    I think that one of the scariest books I have read would be Lightening by Dean Koontz 🙂 Thank you for participating in this fun hop.