Waiting on Wednesday (107) THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT by Melissa Grey

WOW new copy

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine, and is a fun way to share upcoming books we’re excited about with other bloggers and readers. This cover was just revealed, and although I do have some sense of familiarity about the plot, I love the idea of a girl pickpocket as the main character. Check out the beautiful cover:

The Girl at MidnightThe Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight #1) by Melissa Grey. Releases in April 2015 from Delacorte Press. I love the artwork, and check out the story description. There is a firebird in this book!

For readers of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

goodreads-badge-add-plus

What do you think? Let me know what you’re waiting on this week:-)

 

Follow me!
Follow by Email
Twitter
SOCIALICON
Facebook
Google+
Instagram
RSS

Posted July 2, 2014 by Tammy in Waiting on Wednesday / 8 Comments

Divider

8 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday (107) THE GIRL AT MIDNIGHT by Melissa Grey

  1. So many books are comparing themselves to City of Bones! Can’t say that does much for me, though a comparison to Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone piques my interest a little more 😉 I agree, love the beautiful cover art.

  2. Sounds pretty great and I love the cover! I’m weary of starting a new series but I’ll keep my eye on this one.

  3. Kat Cho

    Oooh, this premise really intrigues me, plus the cover is so beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

    If you like cool Urban Fantasies you should check out our WoW where we’re giving away an ARC of The Iron Trial by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black

    Kat @ Books Are Bread